It’s been a long time since I wrote. Over a year. Lately, I’ve been using a 0-following Twitter account to unload whatever stupid garbage I want to say about dumb topics. I should be doing it here, it makes more sense.

I don’t really have much of substance to say but I’m going to type anyway. Today, the Supreme Court said same-sex marriage is legal in the U.S., which is something that would’ve pissed me off when I first started this blog (back when it was a Xanga), but today I don’t care much about. After all, the only reason to ban gay marriage is for religious reasons, and we’re not supposed to have laws for religious reasons. So if the government is going to be in the business of defining marriage, it shouldn’t be defined in a religious way.

I’m a little annoyed that supporters have used this as yet another excuse to blast people who disagree with it (celebrating something is never enough anymore, in any walk of life; we have to attack the ‘losers’), but some of the dissenters are saying some dumb crap, so whatever.

I’m more annoyed that Obamacare continues to be legal, the health-insurance system that as far as I can tell is some sort of bridge between what existed before and going full Canada, with the result that it’s worse than either. Lines the pockets of health insurance companies (a CNN article said stock for such companies went up yesterday after the SCOTUS ruled it was still legal) while forcing people who already didn’t have the money for health insurance to pay too much for it. As a general rule, any law that results in the stock going up for insurance companies, the biggest crooks on the planet, I think is a bad law. If you’re going to force health insurance on people, just make it a payroll tax and be done with it. But of course, that would put health insurance companies out of work from their current jobs scamming people, so we can’t do that. I guess not to mention the fact that if it WAS a payroll tax, no one would be able to afford anything anymore.

I used to be political, but that was stupid. The political party system in this country is broken. Because I’m a lunatic, my favorite analogue for the current situation is the Duke/UNC rivalry. I’ve always sided more with Duke because everything UNC fans claim to hate about Duke, about 85-90% of it applies to UNC as well. (Lately, it might be more like 110%, given that UNC proved recently to be a historically corrupt institution athletically.)

It’s pretty much the same thing in politics. The Republicans are probably the worse of the two, but 85-90% of the crap everyone hates about Republicans pretty much applies to Democrats as well – they just market themselves better. It helps that they’ve got media and talk-show hosts basically pre-conditioning people to react negatively to anything a Republican says or does by highlighting the dumbest of them. I voted for Libertarian Gary Johnson in 2012, and unless something drastically changes I’ll probably be going off the board next November too. The media has already collectively anointed Hillary Clinton, and she’ll be no different than any of the others – in the pocket of the people who buy her loyalties. They’ll get all the support from the media and from younger people because they’re for gay marriage and Obamacare, the former of which should be a point of fact, not a political issue, and the latter of which people need to realize isn’t helping anyone except insurance companies.

We bought a house in December, and I love the place. It’s got some things I want to change, but for what we were able to pay, I seriously doubt we could have done better than we did. Our monthly payment shot up a couple of months ago because of an ‘escrow shortage’, which strikes me as a load of crap, but it’s supposed to come back down next year, so once that happens we should be able to do a few things if we want. That’ll be nice.

Amy and I have been trying to have a baby since moving into the house, and it hasn’t happened yet. Without going into too many details, I worry that it’s my fault, that my body isn’t cooperating. I’m about to go full ‘Marshall vs. The Machines’ if something doesn’t click there soon. I want to be a father more than I’ve ever wanted anything in my life. We went down to Mishawaka for my niece Gracie’s second birthday party last weekend, and I could scarcely adore those nieces and nephews of mine more if they were my own children. Gracie and Hope especially seem like really special kids to me, with bubbling personalities and in Hope’s case a great wit about her. I can’t wait to see them grow up, and it makes me ache to have a child to watch grow up myself. I really hope it works out soon because I don’t want to have to worry that it’s not going to happen.

Anyway, that’s about all I have. Just wanted to get some stuff into the void. I should be working right now, so I’m going to get back to it.

A. Bob

Leave a Reply

